top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSascha Mullen

From Absconding to Abundance: The Unexpected Arrival of My Queen Bee

This past winter was tough for my apiary. I lost my bees to absconding, which was a heavy blow. It felt like I was starting from scratch, and to be honest, I was a bit disheartened. But beekeeping is as much about resilience as it is about the bees themselves.

Just when I was wondering how to rebuild, an unexpected opportunity buzzed into my life. A fellow beekeeper, noticing my predicament, handed me a literal box of bees. It was an unconventional and rather spontaneous gift. I wasn’t sure what to expect – especially since I had no idea if there was a queen among them.


With hope and a bit of caution, I fed the bees and left them to settle in. For two weeks, I watched from the outside, giving them space to establish their new home. Today, I finally felt it was time to peek inside and see how they were doing.


To my delight, the hive was bustling with activity! They had drawn comb, and there was brood in all stages – a clear sign of a thriving colony. And then, there she was, the queen herself, right at the heart of it all. The sight of her was a mix of relief and joy.

This experience reminded me of the unpredictable yet rewarding nature of beekeeping. It’s a journey filled with surprises, challenges, and sweet victories. Here's to a new beginning with my unexpected queen and her industrious colony! 🐝


3 views0 comments
bottom of page