top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSascha Mullen

No turning back now.

Updated: May 3, 2020

So I've finally taken the plunge and have enrolled onto a 'Natural Beekeeping' diploma course online. I'm always a little nervous paying for online courses (especially due to their high costs) because I'm never really sure of the validity of the qualification at the end of it. I know it's not all about that but having something recognised after completion makes all the blood, sweat and tears that studying brings whilst trying to hold down the day job and juggle family life worthwhile.


I've had a little peek into the course content and there are 10 modules to complete with a mini 'exam' at the end of each module which then gets marked by a personal tutor. Because it's a level 3 course the passmark for each module is 60% so I need to make sure that I pull my finger out to keep the motivation high. Tests are not my strong point and I get super nervous which is often my downfall. I cant 'see the wood through the trees' and even the most obvious of answers fall out of my head. I should give myself a little more credit really, I haven't done so bad in life to date.

Why keep bees?

The course itself begins by answering this question. From this, I’ll learn of the global and general reasons why bees are a necessity for our world and our lives – not just our habitats and food sources, but also our economy. The course focusses on how to keep bees in the most environmentally-responsible and bee-friendly way possible. I'm hoping to gain an understanding of how to cultivate bee colonies that can thrive in and support the natural world. Whilst producing some sweet tasting #HampshireHoney.


I won't lie, I'm super excited, I may not have a hive up and running in 2020 (lockdown constraints are making it difficult at this current time) but I can gather the knowledge and equipment to start this exciting venture in 2021. I'd also like to make contact with some of the beekeeping networks locally who can help and support my journey.


Image credits:

  1. 'Work space' from Pexels, royalty free images.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page